[Apply Now] Kofi Annan NextGen Democracy Award 2023

The Kofi Annan Foundation and the Democracy and Culture Foundation invite nominations for the inaugural Kofi Annan NextGen Democracy Award.  The Kofi Annan NextGen Democracy Prize aims to:

  • Recognise exceptional intellectual and/or “in action” leadership shown by a young activist in defending, promoting or renewing democracy;
  • Support the recipient of the prize, including with a one-year mentorship with a recognised democracy expert or senior leader;
  • Inspire young people to commit to the advancement of democracy.

Organizer: Kofi Annan Foundation
Category: Training
Eligible Country: Africans
Application Closing Date: 31 March 2023

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must be aged between 18 and 30 at the time of nomination. There are no restrictions in terms of nationality, gender, or occupation.
  • The Selection Committee will consider the following when deciding the winner:
    Impact: The nominee’s actions had a demonstrated outcome, for instance, a change in policy in a given country, the rate of participation in elections, the number of people reached through a specific campaign, the number of users of a specific application, the number of students gaining a wider understanding of the importance of the democratic process, the number of community associations engaged in an educational campaign etc.
    Innovation: The innovative character of these actions.
    Sustainability: Whether the nominee has advanced the cause of democracy and human rights for a sustained period of one-year minimum, and whether her/his actions are sustainable over time and replicable in other contexts;
    Values: The values displayed by the Nominee through her/his actions.
    Benefit: The added value the Award could bring to the nominee in terms of international notoriety and support.

Program Benefits

  • The winner receives an award of USD 10,000 and
  • one-year mentorship with a recognised democracy expert.
  • Each year, the winner will have the opportunity to speak at the forthcoming Athens Democracy Forum and officially pass the award to the next recipient.


Related Articles

Back to top button